Respecting every workout.

In my marathon training I am supposed to increase the distance for two consecutive weeks before going backwards in a down week. For example, in weeks 1-4 my long runs were 4, 6, 3, 8. This method allows you to increase your distance while giving your legs time to rest on down weeks. However, this past week I fell into the trap of being overconfident on my down week. Partly to blame was the fact that we were having a BBQ for some friends on Sunday. So I squeezed in my long run on Saturday after lifting legs on Friday. I ran 10 miles two weeks ago and breezed through a 12 mile run last weekend on a humid free beautiful day. All I had to do was a quick 8. This should be a piece of cake. Wow was I wrong. I got through the first 4 fairly easy despite my legs feeling heavy. On the way back I was dying. It was a butal, humid, and disgusting day and my legs had not yet recovered from the previous day’s squats. I didn’t eat the way I normally would before a run. I didn’t hydrate properly. I didn’t pace myself correctly. My distance runs are supposed to be an easy pace which for me is usually around 9:20 to 9:50 a mile. I so overlooked this run that I was just trying to get it over with. My pace ended up being at like 8:50 which is too quick for an easy distance run. I didn’t respect the run. Rule number one is you have to respect the workout. Every run could be your best or your worst. Each run needs to be treated with that respect. I have 8 training weeks left until marathon Saturday. Starting this week I am dropping my weekly runs down from 3 times a week to only 2. I start with 14 this coming weekend and I can promise you this. I will not take it lightly.

About Joe Lopez C.S.C.S

I grew up playing sports my whole life. I played football, basketball, and baseball in High School. I was so busy playing that I never learned how to work out and eat properly. I played baseball in college but without the year-round fitness that came from the other sports I started gaining weight. When my college baseball career was over I weighed 285 lbs. I decided to make a change. I lost 85 pounds in two years. I can show you how. I have been a certified personal trainer for six years. I helped countless people find their success stories. My style of training comes from an athletic background added to my own personal experience of weight loss and fitness.

Posted on August 21, 2011, in fitness, running, weight loss, workout and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

I love to hear from others. Please let me know if you like my post.

