Everybody has a plan until they get punched in the face.

Mike Tyson once said this and believe it or not it makes a lot of sense. A reporter asked him about the fighter who he just knocked out and his reported game-plan to keep Tyson from getting inside so he could use his famous uppercut. As a runner training for a race you try to make a plan but over the course of training you have to expect to get punched in the face a time or two. I am following a workout I downloaded from runnersworld’s smart coach. They ask for a previous race time, how hard do you want to train, and when you want to do your long runs. Then they spit out a program for you. Actually I should say I am sort of following the runnersworld program. At Lifetime fitness in Florham Park they have a running club. I decided to give it a try way back in June. So I have been joining the running club twice a week and then doing the long sunday run that runnersworld gives me. I plan to do this until I have to go back to work. Although the run club meets at 6 a.m. it is still not early enough for when I go back to work as a teacher. I feel that isn’t really a problem because by then my runs will be much longer and it would be tough to run 3 times a week with a run of 12 miles or more on the weekend. The running club has been great for a number of reasons. First of all with the summer heat it is nice to get going at 6 a.m. This is something I would never do on my own. Also, in the past I have never really done anything other than run for distance. The run club has been incorporating a track sprint workout as well as hill repeats into my repertoire. It is definitely motivating and humbling to run with others twice a week.
This past week’s workout looked something like this:
Monday: Chest and triceps
Tuesday: 7 miles including:
2 200’s
2 400’s
2 800’s
2 1200’s
Abs
Wednesday: Back and Biceps
Thursday: 6 miles with 7 Hill repeats of about 1 minute each
Legs and Shoulders
Friday: Spin class
Saturday Rest day
Sunday: 9 miles easy pace
Like I said this is my general plan for the rest of the summer until I can no longer attend the run club during the week. Then I plan on downgrading my runs to twice a week to accommodate the longer runs to prepare for the marathon. I did get a minor blister on my toe that I was worried about on Sunday night. I took care of it and took every precaution I could. I was able to do the run club this morning. I was worried that this was going to be my first punch in the face but I was able to slip this one. So far the legs feel sore but overall I am pretty positive. No knockout blows just yet and I am on track for October 15th!

About Joe Lopez C.S.C.S

I grew up playing sports my whole life. I played football, basketball, and baseball in High School. I was so busy playing that I never learned how to work out and eat properly. I played baseball in college but without the year-round fitness that came from the other sports I started gaining weight. When my college baseball career was over I weighed 285 lbs. I decided to make a change. I lost 85 pounds in two years. I can show you how. I have been a certified personal trainer for six years. I helped countless people find their success stories. My style of training comes from an athletic background added to my own personal experience of weight loss and fitness.

Posted on August 2, 2011, in fitness, running, weight loss, workout and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

I love to hear from others. Please let me know if you like my post.

