Running my first Marathon 10/15/2011

I have officially signed up for my first full marathon. I will be running the Baltimore Under Armor Running Festival full marathon on October 15th. After running the half marathon in Baltimore last year I noticed the losers that were in the line for their free half marathon T- shirt and said then that I needed to kick it up a notch. Just kidding…. (sort of). Actually the real reason that I am running the Baltimore marathon and not something more local is because of the free T-shirt. Being sponsored by Under Armor this race gives you by far the best T-Shirt for a race. I am aware that I can buy an Under Armor T-shirt anywhere and not have to run 26.2 miles but I would do most anything for free apparel. Actually the real reason I am running is simply because it is something I have always wanted to do. Not many people can say they have run a marathon in their lives. I believe it is something like 1% of the world’s population. This post was just to announce that I will be running the marathon in October. However, you can expect more posts to follow discussing my training and my progress. It has already started but I just signed up for the marathon earlier this week. I feel like I am in tremendous shape right now and I feel real strong so far. I do have a few thoughts right off the bat. Number one I ran the Baltimore half in 1 hour and 56 minutes. I am hoping for a 4:07 or better but since it is my first marathon my real goal is just to finish. My other goal is to not slouch off on my strength training while training for the race. In the past while training for races I have had a hard time keeping up with my regular lifting routines. Particular lifting legs. If you read my previous post “King of all exercises” you know that I have started to develop a passion for my lower body routine and I would like to keep that up. I am certainly looking forward to the upcoming months leading up to my first marathon. I will keep you up to date with my routines, successes, and failures leading up to the big day.

About Joe Lopez C.S.C.S

I grew up playing sports my whole life. I played football, basketball, and baseball in High School. I was so busy playing that I never learned how to work out and eat properly. I played baseball in college but without the year-round fitness that came from the other sports I started gaining weight. When my college baseball career was over I weighed 285 lbs. I decided to make a change. I lost 85 pounds in two years. I can show you how. I have been a certified personal trainer for six years. I helped countless people find their success stories. My style of training comes from an athletic background added to my own personal experience of weight loss and fitness.

Posted on July 28, 2011, in fitness, personal training, running, workout and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Just saw this post after replying to yours- hill training is key. It’s a very hilly course(as I’m sure you noticed on your half) with little shade in parts.

  2. Good luck with the training! My first full is in November but I’m down south so we can’t be doing any marathons until at least then, it stays too hot for too long!

  3. Congratulations on signing up for your first Marathon! I’ll be running the Empire State Marathon on October 16th! I’m a sucker for the swag so I totally get the desire to run that marathon for the awesome t-shirt! đŸ™‚

I love to hear from others. Please let me know if you like my post.

