MLB and steroids. (why I know fans don’t care)

I am a baseball fan. I love the Yankees. I play fantasy baseball. I even played in college. I couldn’t get enough of Derek Jeter and his 3000th hit. This is a guy who played in the “steroid era.” He played in a time where it seems like every team had a .340 hitter with 40 HR’s. If you look at baseball now that seems crazy. Numbers are way down from where they were in Jeter’s prime. This only makes me respect what he did even more. While in this day and age you can never be certain, I assume that Derek was never a steroid guy. He went about his business getting his 200 hits every year while playing a demanding shortstop position. He never tried to be something he was not. He played the game with humility because he knew that this time would come. He no longer is a .300 hitter. Not even close really. He plays a good shortstop but not a great one. He hits into more double plays than he used to but it’s not because he doesn’t run every ball out. He runs hard and keeps his head down as if he was a rookie trying to make the club. Years from now I am not sure how fans will perceive Mr. Jeter. Perhaps they will look at other guys who played in his era and just see them as the better ballplayers. Guys like Manny Ramirez who while supremely talented cheated the game for what it was worth and made millions doing it.
The average fan does not care about steroids. The average fan just wants to be entertained. Who cares what these guys do to their bodies.
I know someone who works as a personal trainer. He was convicted for selling steroids. His name was dragged through the mud in the local papers. Yet he remains as busy as ever. Clients line up to receive his services. It’s shocking to me but that just reinforces the idea that people will take any shortcut necessary. The average fan doesn’t care about steroids. While this trainer remains as busy as ever. I can only continue to keep my head down and run out every ball as if trying to make the club. Maybe one day I will get my 3000th hit.
The steroid era may be over but the effects are still there. People want instant and unrealistic results. There is no secret to a better body. It is just a little hard work and a lot of patience. Over time if you know you put in the work then you can be self satisfied at the results. Knowing who you are and not trying to be something you are not is very rewarding. The goal for every person in fitness should be to become the best version of themselves. Maybe the average fan doesn’t appreciate Derek Jeter but I do. Over the next few seasons as the NY fans and media talk about him making big money with little results remember that we will never see a lesser version of Derek. He is always giving is his best self. If everyone lived their lives in a similar fashion then the world would be a better place.

About Joe Lopez C.S.C.S

I grew up playing sports my whole life. I played football, basketball, and baseball in High School. I was so busy playing that I never learned how to work out and eat properly. I played baseball in college but without the year-round fitness that came from the other sports I started gaining weight. When my college baseball career was over I weighed 285 lbs. I decided to make a change. I lost 85 pounds in two years. I can show you how. I have been a certified personal trainer for six years. I helped countless people find their success stories. My style of training comes from an athletic background added to my own personal experience of weight loss and fitness.

Posted on July 11, 2011, in baseball, fitness, personal training, workout and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

I love to hear from others. Please let me know if you like my post.

