Here’s “The Situation”

The number one thing that most of my clients don’t understand is what is called spot reduction.  You cannot spot reduce fat from a certain area of your body by working that area.  If you want to lose fat around a certain area then you just have to lose fat as a whole.  However, client after client tells me that they want to do a lot of abs to get rid of their midsection fat.  The latest was a woman  doing a Russian twist and she told me  that we should do this more often because she needed work in that area.

Muscle and fat are two completely different things.  For whatever reason people can’t seem to grasp this concept.  Let’s say for example that you had fat around the back of your arms.  A lot of older women have this problem.  By doing tricep. exercises  such as dips and tricep. extensions you build the muscle underneath the layer of fatty tissue.  The muscle tissue will grow stronger and become tighter but this really has no effect on the fat above the muscle.  I don’t want to make it seem like there is no hope.  In fact if you have trouble spots then diet would be the number one way to remedy.  If you are able to cut calories and combine that with your workout and increased metabolism from lifting weights then you will see improvement in your problem area.

Back to the situation.  For those of you who watch the “Jersey Shore” Mike the situation is one of the characters who is known for having great abs.  The average person will never have abs with definition like that.  However, the number of crunches and leg lifts and bicycles really has nothing to do with seeing abdominal definition.  In fact, anyone who works out on a regular basis has pretty strong abs.  However, in order to see the definition you would have to have a pretty low body fat percentage.  Maybe 8% or less.  For the person who has a real job and a family this is just not a reality.  If you happen to be a reality TV star who doesn’t have much to do it might be easier.

Strong abdominals are important.  They can help strengthen you from the inside out.  It is important for posture and can help prevent back pain. You may have heard some people talk about the core.  My definition of the core is any muscle that acts on the spine.  If any of these muscles are out of balance it can throw the spine out of whack.  While you may never be able to be the situation you should still look into a personal trainer who can show you how to work your core effectively for life and not just for show.

About Joe Lopez C.S.C.S

I grew up playing sports my whole life. I played football, basketball, and baseball in High School. I was so busy playing that I never learned how to work out and eat properly. I played baseball in college but without the year-round fitness that came from the other sports I started gaining weight. When my college baseball career was over I weighed 285 lbs. I decided to make a change. I lost 85 pounds in two years. I can show you how. I have been a certified personal trainer for six years. I helped countless people find their success stories. My style of training comes from an athletic background added to my own personal experience of weight loss and fitness.

Posted on January 25, 2011, in fitness, personal training, workout and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

I love to hear from others. Please let me know if you like my post.

